Posted by: jrappy | January 9, 2013

First day of class, Walking, Getting Lost, Trying New Things

On Monday, I had my first day of class. I was able to find my way around from my study abroad school all the way to my university all by myself. Catherine (a new friend) and I made it to class early and had enough time to treat ourselves to a delicious cafe con leche at a local cafe.

Image

 

I am loving all of the walking we are doing here. One of my schools is about a 25 minute walk, and the other is about 15 minutes. The views on the way over are incredible; I am lucky enough to pass some of the most amazing buildings on the way to school. These sites are nothing like I would ever get to see back in the U.S. In fact, we made a wrong turn walking back from classes yesterday. Instead of being annoyed that it took us almost a half an hour longer to return home, I was so grateful. I got to see this beautiful building:

Image

(picture is not the best quality) and I learned how close my residencia is to La Sagrada Familia and the other beautiful structures. Plus, the weather was almost 70 degrees yesterday, which was an awesome bonus!

Oh, I forgot to mention, after class on Monday, I decided to embark on a “Rebajas” adventure. Since the Spanish holiday of the Three Kings was on Sunday, Monday-Wednesday is called “Rebajas.” Think Black Friday. But even more extreme since in Barcelona you cannot expect customer service and the shops are not very big. This made for a crowded mess. However, I was able to find a jacket on clearance for just 20 Euros! Success! After that, I was ready for a nap.

 

Finally, today me and some friends embarked on an adventure through the Gothic District. I had NO idea what I was in for. This is by far the most beautiful part of Barca that I have seen and I know I am going to go back there many times. There are adorable little shops with many local items and hand crafted/artsy items. The buildings are all very old and intricate. One of my favorite parts of this neighborhoods is the cathedral. The outside is breath-taking. Imagine a sculpture-looking building.  The inside is like nothing I have ever seen before. Imagine engraved stone, an array of colors in stained glass, tomb stones of important royalty members, and high archway ceilings.  I don’t think I have ever appreciated the beauty of buildings this much. (The two pictures below do not have ANY Instagram filter–they are naturally that amazing!)

Image

Image

 

 

I feel like there is nothing that can not be found in the city. As we were walking through this Gothic District, we stumbled upon a quiet street. The plaza we had just been in was filled with the hustle and bustle of  both tourists and locals alike, shuffling from shop to restaurant to metro. However, upon entering this street, the noise seemed to almost completely subside. There was an elderly man playing his guitar. Behind him was a building that was open to the public. It was the corridor to the History Museum. This courtyard boasted many trees with very ripe-looking oranges, a water fountain, adorable benches, and intricate rock engraved designs. It amazed me how we were dead in the center of the city but came across such a quiet and beautiful little spot. I could go on and on about how much this part of Barcelona left an impression on me and made me grateful to be there.

Image

 

Above: The orange trees and fountain

Image

 

Above: The Gothic District from a distance

 

 

Image

Above: Traditional Gothic District Buildings

One more thing worth mentioning: I tried some seafood today–for those of you who know me, know that I refuse to eat anything that lives in the sea. Well today, my friend was eating paella with seafood in it and I tried a bite! Pretty huge deal for me. However, by the time I leave this country, I want to be able to say I tried most of the traditional seafood dishes and get over my irrational fear!

 

Loving this place more and more every day!

 


Leave a comment

Categories